The Australian Curriculum has been written to equip young Australians with the skills, knowledge and understanding that will enable them to engage effectively with and prosper in a globalised world. Students will gain personal and social benefits, be better equipped to make sense of the world in which they live and make an important contribution to building the social, intellectual and creative capital of our nation.
In Victoria the school curriculum is set out in AusVELS. This defines the common and core set of knowledge and skills that are required both for life-long learning and active and informed citizenship.
The AusVels, which covers the areas of Physical, Personal and Social Learning, Discipline Based Learning and Interdisciplinary Learning, is implemented across the school through an Inquiry Based approach to learning.

*There are three cross-curriculum priorities which are embedded in all learning areas. They are not treated as separate areas of learning but are integrated across the subjects to enable and ensure students connect their learning with important issues in contemporary society.

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures
  • Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability.

The AusVELS curriculum framework provides a comprehensive set of prescribed content and common achievement standards and at St Margaret’s Catholic Primary we use this framework to plan student learning programs, assess student progress and achievement and report to parents.
The Foundation (formerly Prep) to Year 6 curriculum framework currently incorporates the Australian Curriculum domains English, Mathematics, Science, History
More information about AusVELS can be found at

AusVELS Standards

AusVELS AusVELS Semester 1          AusVELS Semester 2
Foundation 0.5    F
Year 1 F.5 1.0
Year 2 1.5 2.0
Year 3 2.5 3.0
Year 4 3.5 4.0
Year 5 4.5 5.0
Year 6 5.5 6.0